So I have noticed what I think are some bugs with the functionality of Teleportation.
In my last game I acquired the technology as a robotic player early on to reduce my power costs.
It worked fine for me. My blimps in the air landed and then the Teleportation seemed to go online for me.
BUT, when an expansive player bought me out (thus gaining the tech ?), blimps went back in the air for me and blimps stayed in the air for him.
Also he appeared to have some significant economic issues with the fuel on the blimps as my economy was geared to not fuel any blimps with Fuel or Power due to having Teleportation.
So.... isn't technology supposed to fully transfer when you acquire the firm that discovered the technology ??
On a side note... When an expansive player Acquires a Robotic player... lets say... is everything determined from the expansive rule set, or are some things goverened by robotic rule set and other things goverened by expansive rules ? I haven't been able to fully understand this yet.
Hi Jentry,
Patents DO NOT transfer to the buyout player. We had this in for quite some time, but it created a huge steamroll effect. So what you saw in your game was the designed behavior.
Getting control of another HQ can have some strange side effects. It's best to start the example as robotic. If a robotic player buys a expansive player, the robotic player now has to pay for life support for the expansive colony, but all the transports still use power instead of fuel. If a robotic player buys a scientific player, the scientific buildings still work as they should, but the robotic player can't build any buildings that work like the scientists. If a robotic player buys a scavenger player, they get the same life support issues as expansive but nothing else I think. Their build material doesn't change.
I think that's most of the combinations. Does that make sense?
-Scott-
Wow, thanks for the quick reply, that is very interesting to know !
What's also interesting is that the buildings from a bought out player dont give the adjacency bonus to your production, so you will have to scrap and build your own over his existing buildings, in the case that you're close.
That may be a bug. Do you remember if you bought out a scientific player? Science buildings are different buildings in our logic from other buildings since they operate in a weird way, so you may not get the adjacency bonuses for those. (Though you should.) It should work fine if you buy out another non-scientific player.
Please let me know if you see this problem again. Thank you!
Scientific buildings are strictly distinct from non-scientific ones so you do NOT get the adjacency bonus. However, after a buyout, try maintain their ability to use resources on their tile.
Very interesting. Do these bought-out Scientific buildings lose their special ability to use resources on their tile if the controlling player rebuilds from a Dynamite attack?
So if I understand this correctly if you have scientific buildings then buyout a scientific player you can still gain the adjacency bonus as both have the same building type?
Yes, that is correct.
Yes, the scientific buildings stay the same if rebuilt from dynamite.
Huh these buyout rules need to be posted somewhere, I figured out most of them on my own just by playing but I was sure that not getting the tech was a bug so once someone gets that tech it's basically locked out and if that player is bought that tech is lost from the game?
I can see that getting the tech for free might be OP and casue a snowball have you considered just unlocking the tech and making it re searchable again?
The tech should still apply to that player's buildings.
There are many great features available to you once you register, including:
Sign in or Create Account